Annuity rate data from AdvisorWorld and CANNEX carrier feeds

Check the data date shown with any rate before you rely on it. View current rates

Fixed Indexed Annuity

Observatory Accumulation 5 — Augustar

Augustar

7.75%

Best S&P 500 Annual Cap

10%

Free W/D

50

Available jurisdictions

Product data status: October 2, 2026

Rates, state availability, rider terms, and contract language must be confirmed with a licensed financial advisor or insurance professional before purchase. Guarantees are backed by the issuing insurer.

Product terms

Review Observatory Accumulation 5 terms

Review published terms and liquidity information. Growth and income illustrations are unavailable for unmodeled crediting selections. Fees, withdrawals and surrender charges can reduce contract value.

Product analyzer
Illustrative — live CANNEX rates as of October 2, 2026; not a projection or guarantee.
Crediting strategy
Compare against
$290,562
Est. value at age 80 (Observatory Accumulation 5)
7.75%
Best S&P 500 1-yr point-to-point cap
S&P 500 Index — 7.75% Cap (Unknown · Annual)
✦
How crediting works: the cap limits positive index returns; a down year credits 0%, never a loss. A cap strategy tracks the index within its terms. What is a cap vs participation? →
Assumptions: illustrative — applies Observatory Accumulation 5's published cap rate (7.75% on S&P 500 Index) to a standard benchmark hypothetical index path (~5.4%/yr average, including down years) with a 0% floor over 20 years. Not a projection, quote, or guarantee. Live CANNEX rates as of October 2, 2026.

Free Comparison Report

Get an Observatory Accumulation 5 rate report

See how Observatory Accumulation 5 compares for your age, state, premium, and income goals alongside other Augustar fixed indexed annuity options.

rate data

Run numbers for Observatory Accumulation 5

rates, riders, crediting strategies, state availability, and contract facts stay scoped to this Augustar product.

Live product data

Rates as of October 2, 2026, from AdvisorWorld and CANNEX.

S&P 500 annual point-to-point cap

7.75% cap on S&P 500

A short-surrender AuguStar accumulation FIA with a no-fee one-year S&P 500 cap, premium-banded rates, and a broad mix of indexed choices.

1-year term5-year surrenderUp to $150,000AdvisorWorld + CANNEX data

Best fit

Growth-focused buyers who want a shorter FIA surrender commitment, a recognizable annual cap for comparison, and several alternative crediting approaches.

AM Best

A Excellent

Surrender period

5 years

Free withdrawal

10%/yr

Availability

50 jurisdictions (excl. California, New York)

Featured crediting strategies

Index / strategyRate mechanics

S&P 500

S&P 500 Index

7.75% cap rate

Annual point-to-point

Requested state: TX

1-year term · 5-year surrender · Up to $150,000

S&P 500

S&P 500 Index

6.1% trigger rate

Performance trigger

Requested state: TX

1-year term · 5-year surrender · Up to $150,000

S&P 500

S&P 500 Index

Rate not shown

Rate effective Oct 1, 2026

Annual point-to-point

Requested state: TX

1-year term · 5-year surrender · Up to $150,000

S&P 500

S&P 500 Index

Rate not shown

Rate effective Oct 1, 2026

Performance trigger

Requested state: TX

1-year term · 5-year surrender · Up to $150,000

S&P 500

S&P 500 Index

Alpha 20 · Alpha 20 — reported percentage 20% · Point-to-point component

Rate not shown

Rate effective Oct 1, 2026

Complete strategy calculation unavailable.

Annual point-to-point

Requested state: TX

1-year term · 5-year surrender · Up to $150,000

S&P 500

S&P 500 Index

Alpha 40 · Alpha 40 — reported percentage 40% · Point-to-point component

Rate not shown

Rate effective Oct 1, 2026

Complete strategy calculation unavailable.

Annual point-to-point

Requested state: TX

1-year term · 5-year surrender · Up to $150,000

S&P 500

S&P 500 Index

Guaranteed Cap

6.25% cap rate

5-year point-to-point

Requested state: TX

5-year term · 5-year surrender · Up to $150,000

S&P 500

S&P 500 Index

Guaranteed Trigger

5.1% trigger rate

Performance trigger

Requested state: TX

5-year term · 5-year surrender · Up to $150,000

S&P 500

S&P 500 Index

Guaranteed Cap

Rate not shown

Rate effective Oct 1, 2026

5-year point-to-point

Requested state: TX

5-year term · 5-year surrender · Up to $150,000

S&P 500

S&P 500 Index

Guaranteed Trigger

Rate not shown

Rate effective Oct 1, 2026

Performance trigger

Requested state: TX

5-year term · 5-year surrender · Up to $150,000

Fixed Account

Fixed Account

4.05% declared rate

Fixed account

Requested state: TX

1-year term · 5-year surrender · Up to $150,000

Fixed Account

Fixed Account

Rate not shown

Rate effective Oct 1, 2026

Fixed account

Requested state: TX

1-year term · 5-year surrender · Up to $150,000

Fixed Account

Fixed Account

Alpha 20 · Alpha 20 — reported percentage 5% · Fixed component

Rate not shown

Rate effective Oct 1, 2026

Complete strategy calculation unavailable.

Fixed account

Requested state: TX

1-year term · 5-year surrender · Up to $150,000

Fixed Account

Fixed Account

Alpha 40 · Alpha 40 — reported percentage 5% · Fixed component

Rate not shown

Rate effective Oct 1, 2026

Complete strategy calculation unavailable.

Fixed account

Requested state: TX

1-year term · 5-year surrender · Up to $150,000

Fixed Account

Fixed Account

Alpha Max · Alpha Max — reported percentage 10% · Fixed component

Rate not shown

Rate effective Oct 1, 2026

Complete strategy calculation unavailable.

Fixed account

Requested state: TX

1-year term · 5-year surrender · Up to $150,000

+ 37 additional crediting options (Barclays Global, US Multi-Asset, US Daily...)

Product analyst notes

How to think about this contract

Why it can stand out

  • A relatively short surrender chassis combines a fixed account with annual S&P 500 choices and a broad menu of proprietary-index strategies.
  • Premium-banded strategies let larger deposits access a separate live rate tier without changing the underlying contract design.

What to confirm

  • Withdrawals above the penalty-free allowance can face surrender charges during the contract's surrender period.
  • Several choices use multi-year terms, proprietary indexes, triggers, or blended allocations, so their published rates are not directly comparable with the one-year S&P 500 cap.

Not ideal for

Buyers seeking a contractual lifetime-income rider, immediate full liquidity, or a simple declared-rate product without index and allocation mechanics.

Free Comparison Report

Get an Observatory Accumulation 5 rate report

See how Observatory Accumulation 5 compares for your age, state, premium, and income goals alongside other Augustar fixed indexed annuity options.

All crediting strategies

View rate listings (49 strategy and component listings)

These listings show published strategy details and any available rates. Use the filters to narrow by index, term, premium band, or rate type.

Each option below groups its linked index and fixed components. Published factors describe parts of the option, not its complete return.

Cap: 7.75% · 1-yr

S&P 500 Index

Point-to-point

Requested state: TX5-yr surrenderUp to $149,999.99

Trigger: 6.1% · 1-yr

S&P 500 Index

Performance trigger

Requested state: TX5-yr surrenderUp to $149,999.99

Fixed: 4.05% · 1-yr

Fixed Account

Fixed account

Requested state: TX5-yr surrenderUp to $149,999.99

Rate not shown · 1-yr

Fixed Account

Fixed account

Requested state: TXRate effective Oct 1, 20265-yr surrenderUp to $149,999.99

Rate not shown · 1-yr

S&P 500 Index

Point-to-point

Requested state: TXRate effective Oct 1, 20265-yr surrenderUp to $149,999.99

Par: 150% · 5-yr

US Multi-Asset Diversified 5 Index

Point-to-point

Requested state: TX5-yr surrenderUp to $149,999.99

Par: 146% · 5-yr

US Multi-Asset Risk Managed 5 Index

Point-to-point

Requested state: TX5-yr surrenderUp to $149,999.99

Par: 131% · 5-yr

Barclays Global Trailblazer Index

Point-to-point

Requested state: TX5-yr surrenderUp to $149,999.99

Par: 95% · 5-yr

US Strategic Balanced Asset 8 Index

Point-to-point

Requested state: TX5-yr surrenderUp to $149,999.99

Par: 76% · 5-yr

US Balanced Asset 10 Index

Point-to-point

Requested state: TX5-yr surrenderUp to $149,999.99

Par: 64% · 5-yr

US Daily Risk Managed 12 Index

Point-to-point

Requested state: TX5-yr surrenderUp to $149,999.99

Cap: 6.25% · 5-yr

S&P 500 Index

Guaranteed Cap · Point-to-point

Requested state: TX5-yr surrenderUp to $149,999.99

Trigger: 6.2% · 5-yr

US Balanced Asset 10 Index

Performance trigger

Requested state: TX5-yr surrenderUp to $149,999.99

Trigger: 6.1% · 5-yr

US Daily Risk Managed 12 Index

Performance trigger

Requested state: TX5-yr surrenderUp to $149,999.99

Trigger: 5.1% · 5-yr

S&P 500 Index

Guaranteed Trigger · Performance trigger

Requested state: TX5-yr surrenderUp to $149,999.99

Rate not shown · 5-yr

S&P 500 Index

Guaranteed Cap · Point-to-point

Requested state: TXRate effective Oct 1, 20265-yr surrenderUp to $149,999.99

Rate not shown · 5-yr

Barclays Global Trailblazer Index

Point-to-point

Requested state: TXRate effective Oct 1, 20265-yr surrenderUp to $149,999.99

Rate not shown · 5-yr

US Multi-Asset Risk Managed 5 Index

Point-to-point

Requested state: TXRate effective Oct 1, 20265-yr surrenderUp to $149,999.99

Rate not shown · 5-yr

US Daily Risk Managed 12 Index

Point-to-point

Requested state: TXRate effective Oct 1, 20265-yr surrenderUp to $149,999.99

Rate not shown · 5-yr

US Balanced Asset 10 Index

Point-to-point

Requested state: TXRate effective Oct 1, 20265-yr surrenderUp to $149,999.99

Rate not shown · 5-yr

US Strategic Balanced Asset 8 Index

Point-to-point

Requested state: TXRate effective Oct 1, 20265-yr surrenderUp to $149,999.99

Rate not shown · 5-yr

US Multi-Asset Diversified 5 Index

Point-to-point

Requested state: TXRate effective Oct 1, 20265-yr surrenderUp to $149,999.99

Rate not shown · 5-yr

S&P 500 Index

Guaranteed Trigger · Performance trigger

Requested state: TXRate effective Oct 1, 20265-yr surrenderUp to $149,999.99

Barclays Global Trailblazer Index / S&P 500 Index / US Balanced Asset 10 Index / US Daily Risk Managed 12 Index / US Multi-Asset Diversified 5 Index / US Multi-Asset Risk Managed 5 Index / US Strategic Balanced Asset 8 Index · Alpha 20

1-year term · Income-rider applicability not specified

TX

Component rates are not shown for this request.

Rate effective Oct 1, 2026

Component factors are not a complete strategy return. A complete strategy illustration is unavailable.

Additional contract details
  • Alpha 20 — reported percentage 5% · Reported percentage bounds: 5–5%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Alpha 20 — reported percentage 5% · Reported percentage bounds: 5–5%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Alpha 20 — reported percentage 20% · Reported percentage bounds: 20–20%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Alpha 20 — reported percentage 5% · Reported percentage bounds: 5–5%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Alpha 20 — reported percentage 10% · Reported percentage bounds: 10–10%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Alpha 20 — reported percentage 20% · Reported percentage bounds: 20–20%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Alpha 20 — reported percentage 20% · Reported percentage bounds: 20–20%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Alpha 20 — reported percentage 15% · Reported percentage bounds: 15–15%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.

5-year surrender period. Confirm contract terms and rider charges before purchase.

Barclays Global Trailblazer Index / S&P 500 Index / US Balanced Asset 10 Index / US Daily Risk Managed 12 Index / US Multi-Asset Diversified 5 Index / US Multi-Asset Risk Managed 5 Index / US Strategic Balanced Asset 8 Index · Alpha 40

1-year term · Income-rider applicability not specified

TX

Component rates are not shown for this request.

Rate effective Oct 1, 2026

Component factors are not a complete strategy return. A complete strategy illustration is unavailable.

Additional contract details
  • Alpha 40 — reported percentage 5% · Reported percentage bounds: 5–5%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Alpha 40 — reported percentage 5% · Reported percentage bounds: 5–5%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Alpha 40 — reported percentage 40% · Reported percentage bounds: 40–40%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Alpha 40 — reported percentage 5% · Reported percentage bounds: 5–5%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Alpha 40 — reported percentage 5% · Reported percentage bounds: 5–5%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Alpha 40 — reported percentage 15% · Reported percentage bounds: 15–15%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Alpha 40 — reported percentage 15% · Reported percentage bounds: 15–15%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Alpha 40 — reported percentage 10% · Reported percentage bounds: 10–10%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.

5-year surrender period. Confirm contract terms and rider charges before purchase.

Barclays Global Trailblazer Index / US Balanced Asset 10 Index / US Daily Risk Managed 12 Index / US Multi-Asset Diversified 5 Index / US Multi-Asset Risk Managed 5 Index / US Strategic Balanced Asset 8 Index · Alpha Max

1-year term · Income-rider applicability not specified

TX

Component rates are not shown for this request.

Rate effective Oct 1, 2026

Component factors are not a complete strategy return. A complete strategy illustration is unavailable.

Additional contract details
  • Alpha Max — reported percentage 10% · Reported percentage bounds: 10–10%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Alpha Max — reported percentage 5% · Reported percentage bounds: 5–5%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Alpha Max — reported percentage 5% · Reported percentage bounds: 5–5%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Alpha Max — reported percentage 10% · Reported percentage bounds: 10–10%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Alpha Max — reported percentage 20% · Reported percentage bounds: 20–20%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Alpha Max — reported percentage 25% · Reported percentage bounds: 25–25%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Alpha Max — reported percentage 25% · Reported percentage bounds: 25–25%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.

5-year surrender period. Confirm contract terms and rider charges before purchase.

Composite strategy · Alpha 20

5-year term · Income-rider applicability not specified

TX

Component rates are not shown for this request.

Component factors are not a complete strategy return. A complete strategy illustration is unavailable.

Additional contract details
  • Alpha 20

Confirm contract terms and rider charges before purchase.

Composite strategy · Alpha 40

5-year term · Income-rider applicability not specified

TX

Component rates are not shown for this request.

Component factors are not a complete strategy return. A complete strategy illustration is unavailable.

Additional contract details
  • Alpha 40

Confirm contract terms and rider charges before purchase.

Composite strategy · Alpha Max

5-year term · Income-rider applicability not specified

TX

Component rates are not shown for this request.

Component factors are not a complete strategy return. A complete strategy illustration is unavailable.

Additional contract details
  • Alpha Max

Confirm contract terms and rider charges before purchase.

Accumulation profile

Accumulation-focused contract

The CANNEX information identifies this product as tax-deferred accumulation. Compare cap, participation rate, fees, liquidity, and surrender terms; use a separate payout-focused contract when guaranteed payout mechanics are required.

Common questions about Observatory Accumulation 5

● Can I lose money in Observatory Accumulation 5?

A negative index return by itself does not reduce the contract's account value: Observatory Accumulation 5 credits 0% — the floor — for that indexed period. The account value can still decrease from withdrawals, surrender charges, other contract-specific deductions. In years with no credited interest, those deductions can reduce the account value. Up to 10% of your value can be withdrawn each year without a charge; withdrawals above the penalty-free amount during the surrender period can incur a surrender charge.

● When can I access my money without a surrender charge?

Up to 10% of your account value each year is penalty-free. The scheduled surrender charges run 5 years; after that the surrender-charge schedule ends. Bonus vesting, market value adjustments when applicable, and other contract rules can still affect the amount available. The Liquidity tab of the analyzer shows the year-by-year surrender charge.

● How do Observatory Accumulation 5's crediting strategies compare?

Use "Compare against" in the analyzer to overlay another available Observatory Accumulation 5 strategy on the same premium, age, years, and hypothetical index path. The control labels the strategy type, rate, index, and context so caps, participation rates, triggers, spreads, and fixed-account choices are not treated as interchangeable.

Key Features

Free withdrawal

10%/yr

Annual amount that may be available without surrender charges, subject to contract terms.

Surrender waivers

1

Nursing home waiver

Death benefit

Standard Death Benefit

Beneficiary value depends on contract terms, withdrawals, and rider elections.

Cap-rate floor

1.00%

Minimum guaranteed cap for cap-based indexed strategies.

Declared-rate floor

1.00%

Minimum guaranteed declared rate for declared-rate or performance-trigger strategies.

Fixed account guarantee

1.00%

Guaranteed minimum interest rate for the fixed account.

Participation-rate floor

10.00%

Minimum guaranteed participation rate for participation-rate indexed strategies.

Fund types

Non-qualified, Qualified

Availability can vary by state and product terms.

Surrender schedule

Yr 1

9%

Yr 2

8%

Yr 3

7%

Yr 4

6%

Yr 5

5%

After

0%

Nursing home waiver

Documents

Carrier documents not available for this product

Brochures, product guides, or contract disclosures are currently unavailable for this product. Request the state-specific brochure or specimen contract from the carrier before purchase.

Carrier Ratings

AM BestA
FitchA-
Moody'sBaa1

Contract notes from product data

Crediting design

How the interest-crediting choices are framed

Observatory Accumulation 5 currently shows 49 published rate entries, including components that cannot be modeled as standalone crediting choices, including S&P 500 Index, with 35 volatility-controlled index options grouped separately. These choices matter because caps, participation rates, fixed accounts, spreads, and renewal terms are different mechanics and should not be ranked as one simple rate list.

  • S&P 500 Index: 7.75% annual cap
  • S&P 500 Index: 6.1% annual trigger rate
  • S&P 500 Index: source component; complete strategy calculation unavailable

Liquidity terms

Why access rules deserve as much attention as rates

A fixed indexed annuity can preserve more control than an income-only contract, but access is still governed by the surrender schedule, free-withdrawal terms, and waiver language. Those details are where many product comparisons become more meaningful than a simple rate list.

  • 10%/yr free withdrawal
  • 5 surrender years
  • Nursing home waiver

Verification note

Use carrier materials as term evidence, then confirm the current version

This page uses the current structured product information for the contract. For the current brochure, rate sheet, or specimen contract, confirm the state-specific version with the carrier or a licensed financial professional.

  • Rates and rider terms can vary by state and issue age
  • Carrier guarantees depend on claims-paying ability
  • Current contract forms should be confirmed before purchase

Free Comparison Report

Get an Observatory Accumulation 5 rate report

See how Observatory Accumulation 5 compares for your age, state, premium, and income goals alongside other Augustar fixed indexed annuity options.

Related Resources

Machine-readable citation contract

Cite this

Cite this page for its methodology or interpretation. Current figures may refresh, so this canonical page URL is not a frozen data citation. To quote a market statistic, use the citation showing its observed as-of date and immutable JSON verification URL published by the Annuity Rate Statistics hub. Bulk product-level CANNEX records are not licensed for redistribution.

Page citation: Source: AnnuityRatesHQ · https://annuityrateshq.com/providers/augustar/fia/observatory-accumulation-5
<a href='https://annuityrateshq.com/rate-index'>Rate data: AnnuityRatesHQ Annuity Rate Index</a>

Full attribution terms and copy-ready HTML: annuityrateshq.com/cite-us