Annuity rate data updated daily

Rate data refreshes daily from AdvisorWorld and CANNEX carrier feeds. View current rates

Multi-Year Guaranteed Annuity

SmartStep

Issued by Western-Southern Life Assurance CompanyAM Best A+ · Superior

Guarantee terms

6 yrs

Free withdrawal

5% and 10% published; applicability not specified published tier; confirm timing and exceptions

Market value adj.

Does not apply

Minimum premium

$20,000

Availability

45 jurisdictions (44 states + DC; feed also lists GU, PR, VI)

Surrender schedule

6-year option published contract option; match to the selected rate before purchase

Interest crediting

Compound — CANNEX yield row, no simple-interest flag

Rates effective

Sep 1, 2026

Get my rate reportAll terms & versionsVerified Sep 9, 2026 · CANNEX via AdvisorWorld

Guaranteed rates by term

The guaranteed annual rate is shown for each term at the $100,000 comparison premium, alongside the full-term effective rate.

Published contract versions. The published rate sets share the same contract description. Numbered labels keep them separate without assigning an unconfirmed difference in benefits. Confirm the issued version and its withdrawal and return-of-premium provisions on a quote.

TermSurrender scheduleEffective annual rateFull-term comparisonPublished annual rateContract rateRate structureFull guarantee$100,000 grows toAt term endvs. marketSame-day term median
6-yearSchedule not publishedHighest5.20%4.20%Flat throughout$135,531+$35,531 interest-0.00 ptsmedian 5.20% · n=31

Rate figures use a $100,000 comparison premium and are scoped to the selected contract version. Term-end values are illustrative calculations using the published rate and crediting convention with no withdrawals. Market comparisons appear only when the same-day term distribution includes at least five comparable products.

How 5.20% grows over 6 years

Follow a deposit through the complete guarantee term.

The calculator shows outcomes only when the entered premium matches a published rate band. No rate or ending value is inferred outside those bands.

YearRate creditedInterestBalance
Year 15.20%+$5,198$105,198
Year 25.20%+$5,468$110,666
Year 35.20%+$5,752$116,418
Year 45.20%+$6,051$122,469
Year 55.20%+$6,366$128,835
Year 65.20%+$6,697$135,531
Compound-equivalent annual rate over the full term5.198%

How the number is calculated

Product
SmartStep
Schedule
5.20% for 6 years
Crediting
Compound interest
Ending value
$135,531
Effective rate
5.198% per year

Equivalent: a flat MYGA paying 5.20% compounded annually reaches the same ending value. Confirm the crediting convention on the issued contract.

Getting money out

What it costs to leave early, and what you can take without a charge.

Surrender schedule · published contract options

A term-matched surrender schedule is not published for this rate row. Confirm the applicable contract schedule before purchase.

The published contract data says a market value adjustment does not apply.

Penalty-free access

Withdrawal allowance5% and 10% published; applicability not specified · published tier; confirm timing and exceptions
Systematic withdrawalsNot published
Surrender-charge waiversNursing home waiver · Terminal illness waiver
Bailout if renewal rate dropsNot published
Return of premiumVaries by contract version
Death benefitStandard Death Benefit

Items marked “not published” remain questions for the issued contract; this page does not infer answers.

How to think about this contract

Editorial interpretation stays separate from the contract data above.

Where it stands out

  • The guaranteed-rate period and surrender-charge period align, making the commitment easier to compare.
  • Premium bands let buyers compare the rate available for their planned deposit.
  • Nursing-home and terminal-illness waivers can provide access when the contract conditions are met.

What to confirm

  • The annual withdrawal allowance and return-of-premium provision require version-specific confirmation; do not assume every published option applies together.
  • The surrender schedule stays level initially before declining, so the cost of early access does not decrease every year.
  • The published rate sets share a description. Confirm which issued version is available before selecting a rate.
Best fitBuyers seeking a defined fixed-rate commitment who can leave most of their premium invested for the surrender period.
Not ideal forBuyers who need unrestricted withdrawals or want to rely on a return-of-premium provision without confirming the contract version.

Contract facts

Everything the normalized public CANNEX contract reports. Gaps are labeled, not guessed.

Premium

$20,000 minimum

$1,000,000 maximum

Issue ages

18–89 (annuitant and owner)

Joint contracts available.

Fund types

Non-qualified · Qualified

Continuation code ?; confirm meaning in the contract.

Ownership

Joint · Single

Annuitant: Joint · Single

Death benefit

Standard Death Benefit

Surrender charges may apply under contract terms.

Premium bonus

None published

A first-year interest rate is not a premium bonus.

Systematic withdrawals

Not published

Minimum-withdrawal rule applies.

Bailout provision

Not published

Return of premium

Varies by contract version

Early surrender can return less than premium.

Free-look period

Available; length not published

Length can vary by state; confirm on delivery.

Annuitization

Joint life · Single life

Maximum annuitization age: 100 years

Fees and charges

None published

Contract versions

2

Most states · No MVA · No liquidity rider · Published version 1 · Most states · No MVA · No liquidity rider · Published version 2

Source

CANNEX via AdvisorWorld

Normalized facts observed Sep 9, 2026.

State availability

45 jurisdictions (restricted footprint) in the current feed. The grid shows 45 U.S. jurisdictions; the feed also lists GU, PR, VI. The grid shows availability only; it does not apply one rate version to every jurisdiction. Outlined entries have their own named rate version when the feed identifies one.

ALAKAZARCACOCTDEDCFLGAHIIDILINIAKSKYLAMEMDMAMIMNMSMOMTNENVNHNJNMNYNCNDOHOKORPARISCSDTNTXUTVTVAWAWVWIWY
AvailableOwn rate versionNot available

Machine-readable citation contract

Cite this

Cite this page for its methodology or interpretation. Current figures may refresh, so this canonical page URL is not a frozen data citation. To quote a market statistic, use the citation showing its observed as-of date and immutable JSON verification URL published by the Annuity Rate Statistics hub. Bulk product-level CANNEX records are not licensed for redistribution.

Page citation: Source: AnnuityRatesHQ · https://annuityrateshq.com/providers/western-southern-life-assurance-company/myga/smartstep
<a href='https://annuityrateshq.com/rate-index'>Rate data: AnnuityRatesHQ Annuity Rate Index</a>

Full attribution terms and copy-ready HTML: annuityrateshq.com/cite-us