Annuity rate data from AdvisorWorld and CANNEX carrier feeds

Check the data date shown with any rate before you rely on it. View current rates

Free personalized report

What would you like your money to do?

Choose a goal to start your report. We’ll carry your answer into the next step.

Fixed Indexed Annuity

Smart Start Accumulator 10 Plus with Fee — American National Anico

American National Anico

5.2%

Best S&P 500 Annual Cap

10%

Free W/D

51

Available jurisdictions

Product data status: October 2, 2026

Rates, state availability, rider terms, and contract language must be confirmed with a licensed financial advisor or insurance professional before purchase. Guarantees are backed by the issuing insurer.

Product terms

Review Smart Start Accumulator 10 Plus with Fee terms

Review published terms and liquidity information. Growth and income illustrations are unavailable for unmodeled crediting selections. Fees, withdrawals and surrender charges can reduce contract value.

Product analyzer
Illustrative — live CANNEX rates as of October 2, 2026; not a projection or guarantee.
Crediting strategy
Compare against
$228,273
Gross crediting illustration at age 80 (Smart Start Accumulator 10 Plus with Fee)
Excludes the 0.95% current High Premium Enhancement charge; 1% current High Premium Enhancement charge. This is not a net contract value.
5.2%
Best S&P 500 1-yr point-to-point cap

Gross crediting illustration for each line; excludes the 0.95% current High Premium Enhancement charge; 1% current High Premium Enhancement charge.

S&P 500 Index — 5.2% Cap (Custom · Annual)
✦
How crediting works: the cap limits positive index returns; a down index year has 0% index credit before rider charges. This illustration deducts no rider charge and is not a net contract value. A cap strategy tracks the index within its terms. What is a cap vs participation? →
Assumptions: illustrative — applies Smart Start Accumulator 10 Plus with Fee's published cap rate (5.2% on S&P 500 Index) to a standard benchmark hypothetical index path (~5.4%/yr average, including down years) with a 0% floor over 20 years. Gross crediting only: this illustration excludes the 0.95% current High Premium Enhancement charge; 1% current High Premium Enhancement charge reported in the source. The supplied charge data does not establish a deduction frequency or basis. This charge is not deducted, and no net contract value is shown. Not a projection, quote, or guarantee. Live CANNEX rates as of October 2, 2026.

Free Comparison Report

Get a Smart Start Accumulator 10 Plus with Fee rate report

See how Smart Start Accumulator 10 Plus with Fee compares for your age, state, premium, and income goals alongside other American National Anico fixed indexed annuity options.

rate data

Run numbers for Smart Start Accumulator 10 Plus with Fee

rates, riders, crediting strategies, state availability, and contract facts stay scoped to this American National Anico product.

Live product data

Rates as of October 2, 2026, from AdvisorWorld and CANNEX.

S&P 500 annual cap rate

5.2% cap on S&P 500

A ten-year-surrender fixed indexed annuity from an A-rated carrier in the fee-bearing branch of the Smart Start family — an up-front premium bonus is funded by an optional High Premium Enhancement rider that charges an annual fee on the account value, alongside one S&P 500 annual cap strategy and four participation-rate strategies on proprietary indexes.

1-year term10-year surrenderDoes not vary by premiumAdvisorWorld + CANNEX data

Best fit

Accumulation-focused buyers who commit to holding the full ten-year surrender term, want the upside leverage of a premium bonus that fully vests at year 10, and accept paying an annual rider fee in exchange for that bonus rather than choosing the no-bonus or no-fee siblings.

AM Best

A Excellent

Surrender period

10 years

Free withdrawal

10%/yr

Availability

51 jurisdictions (excl. New York)

Featured crediting strategies

Index / strategyRate mechanics

S&P 500

S&P 500 Index

Custom

5.2% cap rate

Annual point-to-point

Requested state: TX

1-year term · 10-year surrender · Does not vary by premium

S&P 500

S&P 500 Index

Custom

Rate not shown

Rate effective Oct 1, 2026

Annual point-to-point

Requested state: TX

1-year term · 10-year surrender · Does not vary by premium

S&P 500

S&P 500 Index

Moderate · Moderate — reported percentage 25% · Point-to-point component

Rate not shown

Rate effective Oct 1, 2026

Complete strategy calculation unavailable.

Point-to-point

Requested state: TX

Declared crediting · 10-year surrender · Does not vary by premium

Fixed Account

Fixed Account

Custom

3% declared rate

Fixed account

Requested state: TX

1-year term · 10-year surrender · Does not vary by premium

Fixed Account

Fixed Account

Custom

Rate not shown

Rate effective Oct 1, 2026

Fixed account

Requested state: TX

1-year term · 10-year surrender · Does not vary by premium

Fixed Account

Fixed Account

Conservative · Conservative — reported percentage 25% · Fixed component

Rate not shown

Rate effective Oct 1, 2026

Complete strategy calculation unavailable.

Fixed account

Requested state: TX

Declared crediting · 10-year surrender · Does not vary by premium

+ 22 additional crediting options (Invesco QQQ, S&P 500, Morningstar Global...)

Product analyst notes

How to think about this contract

Why it can stand out

  • Index menu mixes one recognizable benchmark (S&P 500 annual point-to-point cap) with four participation-rate strategies on proprietary volatility-controlled or excess-shows indexes (Invesco QQQ Portfolio Plus, S&P 500 Dynamic Intraday TCA, Morningstar Wide Moat, S&P MARC) — buyers get like-for-like cap comparison plus higher-participation alternatives.
  • Optional High Premium Enhancement rider funds an up-front premium bonus that vests in equal annual increments through year 10, fully vesting at the end of the surrender term — meaningful only if held to maturity, but a real upfront credit on day one.
  • Surrender-charge waivers cover disability, nursing-home confinement, terminal illness, and required minimum distributions — four real liquidity escape hatches over the ten-year term.
  • A market value adjustment is present, which can work in the buyer's favor during a falling-rate environment on partial surrenders above the annual free-withdrawal allowance.

What to confirm

  • This is the FEE-bearing version of the Smart Start design. The optional High Premium Enhancement rider that funds the premium bonus charges an annual fee on the account value for as long as the contract is held — that fee is the central tradeoff and compounds against every dollar of index credit earned. The no-fee Smart Start Accumulator and the bonus-without-rider-fee Smart Start Accumulator Plus are the direct comparisons buyers should run before choosing this version.
  • The premium bonus is back-end-loaded: it vests in equal annual increments across the ten-year surrender term. A buyer who surrenders early forfeits the unvested portion AND has paid the annual rider fee for the privilege — the math only works in favor of the buyer when the contract is held the full surrender term.
  • Four of the six strategies are participation-rate-only on proprietary volatility-controlled or excess-shows indexes. Their headline participation rates look high in absolute terms but are not directly comparable to the S&P 500 cap — each proprietary index has its own volatility-control mechanic that suppresses upside, so evaluate strategy-by-strategy rather than picking the highest participation number.
  • The death benefit is the standard cash surrender value with no roll-up and no step-up — buyers prioritizing a guaranteed legacy bump should evaluate that separately. There is no GLWB rider on this contract; do not compare its payout side-by-side with a lifetime-income FIA.

Not ideal for

Buyers who need a contractually guaranteed lifetime withdrawal rate from a GLWB rider, want index-linked growth without an annual rider fee dragging on credit (compare Smart Start Accumulator or Smart Start Accumulator Plus instead), expect to take the bonus and exit before year 10, or want a death benefit with a guaranteed roll-up beyond cash surrender value.

Free Comparison Report

Get a Smart Start Accumulator 10 Plus with Fee rate report

See how Smart Start Accumulator 10 Plus with Fee compares for your age, state, premium, and income goals alongside other American National Anico fixed indexed annuity options.

All crediting strategies

View rate listings (28 strategy and component listings)

These listings show published strategy details and any available rates. Use the filters to narrow by index, term, premium band, or rate type.

Each option below groups its linked index and fixed components. Published factors describe parts of the option, not its complete return.

Par: 50% · 1-yr

Morningstar Global Wide Moat VC 7 Index

Custom · Point-to-point

Requested state: TX10-yr surrenderDoes not vary by premium

Par: 45% · 1-yr

S&P MARC 5% Excess Return

Custom · Point-to-point

Requested state: TX10-yr surrenderDoes not vary by premium

Par: 35% · 1-yr

Invesco QQQ Portfolio Plus Index

Custom · Point-to-point

Requested state: TX10-yr surrenderDoes not vary by premium

Par: 35% · 1-yr

S&P 500 Dynamic Intraday TCA Index (USD) ER

Custom · Point-to-point

Requested state: TX10-yr surrenderDoes not vary by premium

Cap: 5.2% · 1-yr

S&P 500 Index

Custom · Point-to-point

Requested state: TX10-yr surrenderDoes not vary by premium

Fixed: 3% · 1-yr

Fixed Account

Custom · Fixed account

Requested state: TX10-yr surrenderDoes not vary by premium

Rate not shown · 1-yr

Fixed Account

Custom · Fixed account

Requested state: TXRate effective Oct 1, 202610-yr surrenderDoes not vary by premium

Rate not shown · 1-yr

S&P 500 Index

Custom · Point-to-point

Requested state: TXRate effective Oct 1, 202610-yr surrenderDoes not vary by premium

Rate not shown · 1-yr

Invesco QQQ Portfolio Plus Index

Custom · Point-to-point

Requested state: TXRate effective Oct 1, 202610-yr surrenderDoes not vary by premium

Rate not shown · 1-yr

S&P 500 Dynamic Intraday TCA Index (USD) ER

Custom · Point-to-point

Requested state: TXRate effective Oct 1, 202610-yr surrenderDoes not vary by premium

Rate not shown · 1-yr

Morningstar Global Wide Moat VC 7 Index

Custom · Point-to-point

Requested state: TXRate effective Oct 1, 202610-yr surrenderDoes not vary by premium

Rate not shown · 1-yr

S&P MARC 5% Excess Return

Custom · Point-to-point

Requested state: TXRate effective Oct 1, 202610-yr surrenderDoes not vary by premium

Invesco QQQ Portfolio Plus Index / S&P 500 Dynamic Intraday TCA Index (USD) ER / Morningstar Global Wide Moat VC 7 Index · Aggressive

1-year term · Income-rider applicability not specified

TX

Component rates are not shown for this request.

Rate effective Oct 1, 2026

Component factors are not a complete strategy return. A complete strategy illustration is unavailable.

Additional contract details
  • Aggressive — reported percentage 40% · Reported percentage bounds: 40–40%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Aggressive — reported percentage 20% · Reported percentage bounds: 20–20%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Aggressive — reported percentage 40% · Reported percentage bounds: 40–40%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.

10-year surrender period. Confirm contract terms and rider charges before purchase.

Composite strategy · Conservative

Income-rider applicability not specified

TX

Component rates are not shown for this request.

Rate effective Oct 1, 2026

Component factors are not a complete strategy return. A complete strategy illustration is unavailable.

Additional contract details
  • Conservative — reported percentage 25% · Reported percentage bounds: 25–25%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.

10-year surrender period. Confirm contract terms and rider charges before purchase.

Invesco QQQ Portfolio Plus Index / S&P 500 Dynamic Intraday TCA Index (USD) ER / Morningstar Global Wide Moat VC 7 Index / S&P MARC 5% Excess Return · Conservative

1-year term · Income-rider applicability not specified

TX

Component rates are not shown for this request.

Rate effective Oct 1, 2026

Component factors are not a complete strategy return. A complete strategy illustration is unavailable.

Additional contract details
  • Conservative — reported percentage 25% · Reported percentage bounds: 25–25%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Conservative — reported percentage 10% · Reported percentage bounds: 10–10%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Conservative — reported percentage 30% · Reported percentage bounds: 30–30%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Conservative — reported percentage 10% · Reported percentage bounds: 10–10%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.

10-year surrender period. Confirm contract terms and rider charges before purchase.

Invesco QQQ Portfolio Plus Index / S&P 500 Dynamic Intraday TCA Index (USD) ER / Morningstar Global Wide Moat VC 7 Index / S&P MARC 5% Excess Return · Moderate

1-year term · Income-rider applicability not specified

TX

Component rates are not shown for this request.

Rate effective Oct 1, 2026

Component factors are not a complete strategy return. A complete strategy illustration is unavailable.

Additional contract details
  • Moderate — reported percentage 25% · Reported percentage bounds: 25–25%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Moderate — reported percentage 10% · Reported percentage bounds: 10–10%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Moderate — reported percentage 30% · Reported percentage bounds: 30–30%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Moderate — reported percentage 10% · Reported percentage bounds: 10–10%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.

10-year surrender period. Confirm contract terms and rider charges before purchase.

S&P 500 Index · Moderate

Income-rider applicability not specified

TX

Component rates are not shown for this request.

Rate effective Oct 1, 2026

Component factors are not a complete strategy return. A complete strategy illustration is unavailable.

Additional contract details
  • Moderate — reported percentage 25% · Reported percentage bounds: 25–25%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.

10-year surrender period. Confirm contract terms and rider charges before purchase.

Composite strategy · Aggressive

1-year term · Income-rider applicability not specified

TX

Component rates are not shown for this request.

Component factors are not a complete strategy return. A complete strategy illustration is unavailable.

Additional contract details
  • Aggressive

Confirm contract terms and rider charges before purchase.

Composite strategy · Conservative

1-year term · Income-rider applicability not specified

TX

Component rates are not shown for this request.

Component factors are not a complete strategy return. A complete strategy illustration is unavailable.

Additional contract details
  • Conservative

Confirm contract terms and rider charges before purchase.

Composite strategy · Moderate

1-year term · Income-rider applicability not specified

TX

Component rates are not shown for this request.

Component factors are not a complete strategy return. A complete strategy illustration is unavailable.

Additional contract details
  • Moderate

Confirm contract terms and rider charges before purchase.

Other contract riders and charges

High Premium Enhancement

Published rider charge: 0.95% (current). This charge is separate from strategy crediting rates. Confirm charge frequency and basis in the carrier contract.

High Premium Enhancement

Published rider charge: 1% (current). This charge is separate from strategy crediting rates. Confirm charge frequency and basis in the carrier contract.

Accumulation profile

Accumulation-focused contract

The CANNEX information identifies this product as tax-deferred accumulation. Compare cap, participation rate, fees, liquidity, and surrender terms; use a separate payout-focused contract when guaranteed payout mechanics are required.

Common questions about Smart Start Accumulator 10 Plus with Fee

● Can I lose money in Smart Start Accumulator 10 Plus with Fee?

A negative index return by itself does not reduce the contract's account value: Smart Start Accumulator 10 Plus with Fee credits 0% — the floor — for that indexed period. The account value can still decrease from withdrawals, surrender charges, other contract-specific deductions. In years with no credited interest, those deductions can reduce the account value. Up to 10% of your value can be withdrawn each year without a charge; withdrawals above the penalty-free amount during the surrender period can incur a surrender charge.

● How do Smart Start Accumulator 10 Plus with Fee's crediting strategies compare?

Use "Compare against" in the analyzer to overlay another available Smart Start Accumulator 10 Plus with Fee strategy on the same premium, age, years, and hypothetical index path. The control labels the strategy type, rate, index, and context so caps, participation rates, triggers, spreads, and fixed-account choices are not treated as interchangeable.

Key Features

Free withdrawal

10%/yr

Annual amount that may be available without surrender charges, subject to contract terms.

Surrender waivers

4

Disability waiver, Nursing home waiver, RMD waiver, Terminal illness waiver

Death benefit

Standard Death Benefit

Beneficiary value depends on contract terms, withdrawals, and rider elections.

Cap-rate floor

1.00%

Minimum guaranteed cap for cap-based indexed strategies.

Fixed account guarantee

3.00%

Guaranteed minimum interest rate for the fixed account.

Participation-rate floor

10.00%

Minimum guaranteed participation rate for participation-rate indexed strategies.

Fund types

Non-qualified, Qualified

Availability can vary by state and product terms.

Surrender schedule

Surrender schedule not available for this product

A surrender-charge schedule is currently unavailable for this product. Surrender terms often vary by state — confirm with the carrier before purchase.

Documents

product guide

American National Insurance Company – Smart Start Accumulator Plus (with Fee) – Product Guide (11340 : 03-25).pdf

Confidence: highReviewed Apr 14, 2026

Direct link not published — request the document from the carrier.

product guide

11340.pdf

Confidence: highReviewed Apr 1, 2026

Direct link not published — request the document from the carrier.

Carrier Ratings

AM BestA
FitchA
S&PA

Contract notes from product data

Crediting design

How the interest-crediting choices are framed

Smart Start Accumulator 10 Plus with Fee currently shows 28 published rate entries, including components that cannot be modeled as standalone crediting choices, including S&P 500 Index and Fixed Account, with 22 volatility-controlled index options grouped separately. These choices matter because caps, participation rates, fixed accounts, spreads, and renewal terms are different mechanics and should not be ranked as one simple rate list.

  • S&P 500 Index: 5.2% annual cap
  • S&P 500 Index: source component; complete strategy calculation unavailable
  • Fixed Account: 3% fixed account rate

Liquidity terms

Why access rules deserve as much attention as rates

A fixed indexed annuity can preserve more control than an income-only contract, but access is still governed by the surrender schedule, free-withdrawal terms, and waiver language. Those details are where many product comparisons become more meaningful than a simple rate list.

  • 10%/yr free withdrawal
  • Disability waiver
  • Nursing home waiver
  • RMD waiver

Verification note

Use carrier materials as term evidence, then confirm the current version

Carrier materials such as American National Insurance Company – Smart Start Accumulator Plus (with Fee) – Product Guide (11340 : 03-25).pdf and 11340.pdf help explain the contract language behind the data on this page; the latest document activity we see is Apr 24, 2026. For the current brochure, rate sheet, or specimen contract, confirm the state-specific version with the carrier or a licensed financial professional.

  • Rates and rider terms can vary by state and issue age
  • Carrier guarantees depend on claims-paying ability
  • Current contract forms should be confirmed before purchase

Free Comparison Report

Get a Smart Start Accumulator 10 Plus with Fee rate report

See how Smart Start Accumulator 10 Plus with Fee compares for your age, state, premium, and income goals alongside other American National Anico fixed indexed annuity options.

Related Resources

Free personalized report

What would you like your money to do?

Choose a goal to start your report. We’ll carry your answer into the next step.

Machine-readable citation contract

Cite this

Cite this page for its methodology or interpretation. Current figures may refresh, so this canonical page URL is not a frozen data citation. To quote a market statistic, use the citation showing its observed as-of date and immutable JSON verification URL published by the Annuity Rate Statistics hub. Bulk product-level CANNEX records are not licensed for redistribution.

Page citation: Source: AnnuityRatesHQ · https://annuityrateshq.com/providers/american-national-anico/fia/smart-start-accumulator-plus-with-fee
<a href='https://annuityrateshq.com/rate-index'>Rate data: AnnuityRatesHQ Annuity Rate Index</a>

Full attribution terms and copy-ready HTML: annuityrateshq.com/cite-us

Get my free personal report