Annuity rate data from AdvisorWorld and CANNEX carrier feeds

Check the data date shown with any rate before you rely on it. View current rates

New

Working Papers · Forge AI™ from AdvisorWorld

See a custom 16-page look at annuity choices, modeled outcomes, and tradeoffs.

Try Working Papers

ChatGPT plugin is live. Research rates and products in your chat. Claude coming soon.

See install steps

Free personalized report

What would you like your money to do?

Choose a goal to start your report. We’ll carry your answer into the next step.

Fixed Indexed Annuity

Smart Start Accumulator 5 Plus with Fee — American National Anico

American National Anico

Comparison basis: single-life contract · $100,000 premium · age 60 · TX. Income timing assumption: 10 years; no income benefit is selected. Confirm a personal illustration with the carrier.

4.75%

Best S&P 500 Annual Cap

10%

Free W/D

50

Available jurisdictions

Product data status: October 16, 2026

Rates, state availability, rider terms, and contract language must be confirmed with a licensed financial advisor or insurance professional before purchase. Guarantees are backed by the issuing insurer.

Product terms

Review Smart Start Accumulator 5 Plus with Fee terms

Review published terms and liquidity information. Growth and income illustrations are unavailable for unmodeled crediting selections. Fees, withdrawals and surrender charges can reduce contract value.

Product analyzer
Illustrative — live CANNEX rates as of October 16, 2026; not a projection or guarantee.
Crediting strategy
Compare against
$242,806
Gross crediting illustration at age 80 (Smart Start Accumulator 5 Plus with Fee)
Excludes the 0.95% current High Premium Enhancement charge. This is not a net contract value.
13%
Premium bonus offered

Gross crediting illustration for each line; excludes the 0.95% current High Premium Enhancement charge.

S&P 500 Index — 4.75% Cap (Custom · Annual)
✦
How crediting works: the cap limits positive index returns; a down index year has 0% index credit before rider charges. This illustration deducts no rider charge and is not a net contract value. A cap strategy tracks the index within its terms. What is a cap vs participation? →
Assumptions: illustrative — applies Smart Start Accumulator 5 Plus with Fee's published cap rate (4.75% on S&P 500 Index) to a standard benchmark hypothetical index path (~5.4%/yr average, including down years) with a 0% floor over 20 years. Gross crediting only: this illustration excludes the 0.95% current High Premium Enhancement charge reported in the source. The supplied charge data does not establish a deduction frequency or basis. This charge is not deducted, and no net contract value is shown. Growth starts from a bonus-adjusted illustrative account value: $100,000 premium + $13,000 premium bonus (13%) = $113,000. Bonus vesting and withdrawal treatment follow the contract. Not a projection, quote, or guarantee. Live CANNEX rates as of October 16, 2026.

Free Comparison Report

Get a Smart Start Accumulator 5 Plus with Fee rate report

See how Smart Start Accumulator 5 Plus with Fee compares for your age, state, premium, and income goals alongside other American National Anico fixed indexed annuity options.

rate data

Run numbers for Smart Start Accumulator 5 Plus with Fee

rates, riders, crediting strategies, state availability, and contract facts stay scoped to this American National Anico product.

Live product data

Rates as of October 16, 2026, from AdvisorWorld and CANNEX.

Annual benchmark cap

4.75% cap on S&P 500

The fee-bearing Series 5 Plus variant pairs a High Premium Enhancement with an ongoing rider charge and portfolio or custom crediting choices.

1-year term5-year surrenderDoes not vary by premiumAdvisorWorld + CANNEX data

Best fit

Buyers seeking tax-deferred accumulation who can leave funds invested through the surrender period and want to compare tailored portfolios with custom allocations.

AM Best

A Excellent

Surrender period

5 years

Free withdrawal

10%/yr

Availability

50 jurisdictions (excl. California, New York)

Featured crediting strategies

Index / strategyRate mechanics

S&P 500

S&P 500 Index

Custom

4.75% cap rate

Rate effective Oct 16, 2026

Annual point-to-point

Requested state: TX

1-year term · 5-year surrender · Does not vary by premium

S&P 500

S&P 500 Index

Moderate · Moderate — reported percentage 25% · Point-to-point component

6.25% cap rate

Rate effective Oct 16, 2026

Complete strategy calculation unavailable.

Point-to-point

Requested state: TX

Declared crediting · 5-year surrender · Does not vary by premium

Fixed Account

Fixed Account

Custom

3% declared rate

Rate effective Oct 16, 2026

Fixed account

Requested state: TX

1-year term · 5-year surrender · Does not vary by premium

Fixed Account

Fixed Account

Conservative · Conservative — reported percentage 25% · Fixed component

5% fixed component rate

Rate effective Oct 16, 2026

Complete strategy calculation unavailable.

Fixed account

Requested state: TX

Declared crediting · 5-year surrender · Does not vary by premium

+ 18 additional crediting options (Invesco QQQ, S&P 500, Morningstar Global...)

Product analyst notes

How to think about this contract

Why it can stand out

  • Choose a tailored portfolio or customize a combination of fixed and indexed strategies.
  • The Smarter Start Guarantee applies to first-year allocations in the tailored portfolios; custom allocations do not qualify.
  • The Plus design adds a premium enhancement to the annuity value; the enhancement is subject to vesting terms.

What to confirm

  • A cap on one portfolio component is not a cap on the entire contract. Review each allocation and its crediting method.
  • Withdrawals beyond the contract allowance can incur surrender charges and a market value adjustment. Confirm state-specific terms before purchase.
  • Early surrender can forfeit an unvested premium enhancement. Compare the enhancement and its conditions with the base contract.
  • The High Premium Enhancement has a separate rider fee. A strategy with no published strategy charge does not make this contract fee-free.

Not ideal for

Buyers needing unrestricted access to their savings or a quoted guaranteed lifetime withdrawal benefit.

Free Comparison Report

Get a Smart Start Accumulator 5 Plus with Fee rate report

See how Smart Start Accumulator 5 Plus with Fee compares for your age, state, premium, and income goals alongside other American National Anico fixed indexed annuity options.

All crediting strategies

View rate listings (28 strategy and component listings)

These listings show published strategy details and any available rates. Use the filters to narrow by index, term, premium band, or rate type.

Each option below groups its linked index and fixed components. Published factors describe parts of the option, not its complete return.

Par: 45% · 1-yr

Morningstar Global Wide Moat VC 7 Index

Custom · Point-to-point · 0% annual strategy fee

Requested state: TXRate effective Oct 16, 20265-yr surrenderDoes not vary by premium

Par: 45% · 1-yr

Morningstar Global Wide Moat VC 7 Index

Custom · Point-to-point

Requested state: TX5-yr surrenderDoes not vary by premium

Par: 40% · 1-yr

S&P MARC 5% Excess Return

Custom · Point-to-point · 0% annual strategy fee

Requested state: TXRate effective Oct 16, 20265-yr surrenderDoes not vary by premium

Par: 40% · 1-yr

S&P MARC 5% Excess Return

Custom · Point-to-point

Requested state: TX5-yr surrenderDoes not vary by premium

Par: 30% · 1-yr

Invesco QQQ Portfolio Plus Index

Custom · Point-to-point · 0% annual strategy fee

Requested state: TXRate effective Oct 16, 20265-yr surrenderDoes not vary by premium

Par: 30% · 1-yr

S&P 500 Dynamic Intraday TCA Index (USD) ER

Custom · Point-to-point · 0% annual strategy fee

Requested state: TXRate effective Oct 16, 20265-yr surrenderDoes not vary by premium

Par: 30% · 1-yr

Invesco QQQ Portfolio Plus Index

Custom · Point-to-point

Requested state: TX5-yr surrenderDoes not vary by premium

Par: 30% · 1-yr

S&P 500 Dynamic Intraday TCA Index (USD) ER

Custom · Point-to-point

Requested state: TX5-yr surrenderDoes not vary by premium

Cap: 4.75% · 1-yr

S&P 500 Index

Custom · Point-to-point · 0% annual strategy fee

Requested state: TXRate effective Oct 16, 20265-yr surrenderDoes not vary by premium

Cap: 4.75% · 1-yr

S&P 500 Index

Custom · Point-to-point

Requested state: TX5-yr surrenderDoes not vary by premium

Fixed: 3% · 1-yr

Fixed Account

Custom · Fixed account · 0% annual strategy fee

Requested state: TXRate effective Oct 16, 20265-yr surrenderDoes not vary by premium

Fixed: 3% · 1-yr

Fixed Account

Custom · Fixed account

Requested state: TX5-yr surrenderDoes not vary by premium

Morningstar Global Wide Moat VC 7 Index / Invesco QQQ Portfolio Plus Index / S&P 500 Dynamic Intraday TCA Index (USD) ER · Aggressive

1-year term · Income-rider applicability not specified

TX

Participation
60%
Participation
45%
Participation
40%

Rate effective Oct 16, 2026

Component factors are not a complete strategy return. A complete strategy illustration is unavailable.

Additional contract details
  • Aggressive — reported percentage 40% · Reported percentage bounds: 40–40%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Aggressive — reported percentage 40% · Reported percentage bounds: 40–40%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Aggressive — reported percentage 20% · Reported percentage bounds: 20–20%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.

5-year surrender period. Confirm contract terms and rider charges before purchase.

Composite strategy · Conservative

Income-rider applicability not specified

TX

Source fixed-component quote
5%

Rate effective Oct 16, 2026

Component factors are not a complete strategy return. A complete strategy illustration is unavailable.

Additional contract details
  • Conservative — reported percentage 25% · Reported percentage bounds: 25–25%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.

5-year surrender period. Confirm contract terms and rider charges before purchase.

Morningstar Global Wide Moat VC 7 Index / S&P MARC 5% Excess Return / Invesco QQQ Portfolio Plus Index / S&P 500 Dynamic Intraday TCA Index (USD) ER · Conservative

1-year term · Income-rider applicability not specified

TX

Participation
55%
Participation
50%
Participation
40%
Participation
35%

Rate effective Oct 16, 2026

Component factors are not a complete strategy return. A complete strategy illustration is unavailable.

Additional contract details
  • Conservative — reported percentage 30% · Reported percentage bounds: 30–30%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Conservative — reported percentage 10% · Reported percentage bounds: 10–10%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Conservative — reported percentage 25% · Reported percentage bounds: 25–25%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Conservative — reported percentage 10% · Reported percentage bounds: 10–10%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.

5-year surrender period. Confirm contract terms and rider charges before purchase.

Morningstar Global Wide Moat VC 7 Index / S&P MARC 5% Excess Return / Invesco QQQ Portfolio Plus Index / S&P 500 Dynamic Intraday TCA Index (USD) ER · Moderate

1-year term · Income-rider applicability not specified

TX

Participation
55%
Participation
50%
Participation
40%
Participation
35%

Rate effective Oct 16, 2026

Component factors are not a complete strategy return. A complete strategy illustration is unavailable.

Additional contract details
  • Moderate — reported percentage 30% · Reported percentage bounds: 30–30%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Moderate — reported percentage 10% · Reported percentage bounds: 10–10%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Moderate — reported percentage 25% · Reported percentage bounds: 25–25%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Moderate — reported percentage 10% · Reported percentage bounds: 10–10%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.

5-year surrender period. Confirm contract terms and rider charges before purchase.

S&P 500 Index · Moderate

Income-rider applicability not specified

TX

Cap rate
6.25%

Rate effective Oct 16, 2026

Component factors are not a complete strategy return. A complete strategy illustration is unavailable.

Additional contract details
  • Moderate — reported percentage 25% · Reported percentage bounds: 25–25%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.

5-year surrender period. Confirm contract terms and rider charges before purchase.

Composite strategy · Aggressive

1-year term · Income-rider applicability not specified

TX

Component rates are not shown for this request.

Component factors are not a complete strategy return. A complete strategy illustration is unavailable.

Additional contract details
  • Aggressive

Confirm contract terms and rider charges before purchase.

Composite strategy · Conservative

1-year term · Income-rider applicability not specified

TX

Component rates are not shown for this request.

Component factors are not a complete strategy return. A complete strategy illustration is unavailable.

Additional contract details
  • Conservative

Confirm contract terms and rider charges before purchase.

Composite strategy · Moderate

1-year term · Income-rider applicability not specified

TX

Component rates are not shown for this request.

Component factors are not a complete strategy return. A complete strategy illustration is unavailable.

Additional contract details
  • Moderate

Confirm contract terms and rider charges before purchase.

Other contract riders and charges

High Premium Enhancement

Published rider charge: 0.95% (current). This charge is separate from strategy crediting rates. Confirm charge frequency and basis in the carrier contract.

Accumulation profile

Accumulation-focused contract

The CANNEX information identifies this product as tax-deferred accumulation. Compare cap, participation rate, fees, liquidity, and surrender terms; use a separate payout-focused contract when guaranteed payout mechanics are required.

Common questions about Smart Start Accumulator 5 Plus with Fee

● Can I lose money in Smart Start Accumulator 5 Plus with Fee?

A negative index return by itself does not reduce the contract's account value: Smart Start Accumulator 5 Plus with Fee credits 0% — the floor — for that indexed period. The account value can still decrease from withdrawals, surrender charges, other contract-specific deductions. In years with no credited interest, those deductions can reduce the account value. Up to 10% of your value can be withdrawn each year without a charge; withdrawals above the penalty-free amount during the surrender period can incur a surrender charge.

● When can I access my money without a surrender charge?

Up to 10% of your account value each year is penalty-free. The scheduled surrender charges run 5 years; after that the surrender-charge schedule ends. Bonus vesting, market value adjustments when applicable, and other contract rules can still affect the amount available. The Liquidity tab of the analyzer shows the year-by-year surrender charge.

● How do Smart Start Accumulator 5 Plus with Fee's crediting strategies compare?

Use "Compare against" in the analyzer to overlay another available Smart Start Accumulator 5 Plus with Fee strategy on the same premium, age, years, and hypothetical index path. The control labels the strategy type, rate, index, and context so caps, participation rates, triggers, spreads, and fixed-account choices are not treated as interchangeable.

Key Features

Free withdrawal

10%/yr

Annual amount that may be available without surrender charges, subject to contract terms.

Surrender waivers

4

Disability waiver, Nursing home waiver, RMD waiver, Terminal illness waiver

Premium bonus

13%

Bonus terms can vary by state, premium band, and rider election.

Death benefit

Standard Death Benefit

Beneficiary value depends on contract terms, withdrawals, and rider elections.

Cap-rate floor

1.00%

Minimum guaranteed cap for cap-based indexed strategies.

Fixed account guarantee

3.00%

Guaranteed minimum interest rate for the fixed account.

Participation-rate floor

10.00%

Minimum guaranteed participation rate for participation-rate indexed strategies.

Fund types

Non-qualified, Qualified

Availability can vary by state and product terms.

Surrender schedule

Yr 1

9%

Yr 2

8.1%

Yr 3

7.2%

Yr 4

6.4%

Yr 5

5.5%

After

0%

Disability waiver, Nursing home waiver, RMD waiver, Terminal illness waiver

Documents

Carrier product guide

Smart Start Accumulator Series 5 consumer brochure

Open document

Carrier Ratings

AM BestA
FitchA
S&PA

Contract notes from product data

Crediting design

How the interest-crediting choices are framed

Smart Start Accumulator 5 Plus with Fee currently shows 28 published rate entries, including components that cannot be modeled as standalone crediting choices, including S&P 500 Index and Fixed Account, with 22 volatility-controlled index options grouped separately. These choices matter because caps, participation rates, fixed accounts, spreads, and renewal terms are different mechanics and should not be ranked as one simple rate list.

  • S&P 500 Index: 4.75% annual cap, 0% annual strategy fee
  • S&P 500 Index: 4.75% annual cap
  • S&P 500 Index: source component; complete strategy calculation unavailable
  • Fixed Account: 3% fixed account rate, 0% annual strategy fee

Liquidity terms

Why access rules deserve as much attention as rates

A fixed indexed annuity can preserve more control than an income-only contract, but access is still governed by the surrender schedule, free-withdrawal terms, and waiver language. Those details are where many product comparisons become more meaningful than a simple rate list.

  • 10%/yr free withdrawal
  • 5 surrender years
  • Disability waiver
  • Nursing home waiver
  • RMD waiver

Verification note

Use carrier materials as term evidence, then confirm the current version

Carrier materials such as Smart Start Accumulator Series 5 consumer brochure help explain the contract language behind the data on this page. For the current brochure, rate sheet, or specimen contract, confirm the state-specific version with the carrier or a licensed financial professional.

  • Rates and rider terms can vary by state and issue age
  • Carrier guarantees depend on claims-paying ability
  • Current contract forms should be confirmed before purchase

Free Comparison Report

Get a Smart Start Accumulator 5 Plus with Fee rate report

See how Smart Start Accumulator 5 Plus with Fee compares for your age, state, premium, and income goals alongside other American National Anico fixed indexed annuity options.

Related Resources

Free personalized report

What would you like your money to do?

Choose a goal to start your report. We’ll carry your answer into the next step.

Machine-readable citation contract

Cite this

Cite this page for its methodology or interpretation. Current figures may refresh, so this canonical page URL is not a frozen data citation. To quote a market statistic, use the citation showing its observed as-of date and immutable JSON verification URL published by the Annuity Rate Statistics hub. Bulk product-level CANNEX records are not licensed for redistribution.

Page citation: Source: AnnuityRatesHQ · https://annuityrateshq.com/providers/american-national-anico/fia/smart-start-accumulator-5-plus-with-fee
<a href='https://annuityrateshq.com/rate-index'>Rate data: AnnuityRatesHQ Annuity Rate Index</a>

Full attribution terms and copy-ready HTML: annuityrateshq.com/cite-us

Build my reportPlan my income