Annuity rate data from AdvisorWorld and CANNEX carrier feeds

Check the data date shown with any rate before you rely on it. View current rates

Fixed Indexed Annuity

Smart Start Accumulator 10 — American National Anico

American National Anico

Comparison basis: single-life contract · $100,000 premium · age 60 · TX. Income timing assumption: 10 years; no income benefit is selected. Confirm a personal illustration with the carrier.

8.25%

Best S&P 500 Annual Cap

10%

Free W/D

51

Available jurisdictions

Product data status: October 2, 2026

Rates, state availability, rider terms, and contract language must be confirmed with a licensed financial advisor or insurance professional before purchase. Guarantees are backed by the issuing insurer.

Product terms

Review Smart Start Accumulator 10 terms

Review published terms and liquidity information. Growth and income illustrations are unavailable for unmodeled crediting selections. Fees, withdrawals and surrender charges can reduce contract value.

Product analyzer
Illustrative — live CANNEX rates as of October 2, 2026; not a projection or guarantee.
Crediting strategy
Compare against
$298,058
Est. value at age 80 (Smart Start Accumulator 10)
8.25%
Best S&P 500 1-yr point-to-point cap
S&P 500 Index — 8.25% Cap (Custom · Annual)
✦
How crediting works: the cap limits positive index returns; a down year credits 0%, never a loss. A cap strategy tracks the index within its terms. What is a cap vs participation? →
Assumptions: illustrative — applies Smart Start Accumulator 10's published cap rate (8.25% on S&P 500 Index) to a standard benchmark hypothetical index path (~5.4%/yr average, including down years) with a 0% floor over 20 years. Not a projection, quote, or guarantee. Live CANNEX rates as of October 2, 2026.

Free Comparison Report

Get a Smart Start Accumulator 10 rate report

See how Smart Start Accumulator 10 compares for your age, state, premium, and income goals alongside other American National Anico fixed indexed annuity options.

rate data

Run numbers for Smart Start Accumulator 10

rates, riders, crediting strategies, state availability, and contract facts stay scoped to this American National Anico product.

Live product data

Rates as of October 2, 2026, from AdvisorWorld and CANNEX.

S&P 500 annual point-to-point cap

8.25% cap on S&P 500

A 10-year fixed indexed annuity from an A-rated carrier built purely for accumulation — no premium bonus, no income rider, no strategy-level fees — anchored by a full-participation S&P 500 annual point-to-point cap alongside a fixed-rate bucket and four participation-rate strategies on proprietary indexes.

1-year term10-year surrenderDoes not vary by premiumAdvisorWorld + CANNEX data

Best fit

Buyers who want straightforward tax-deferred FIA growth, value the highest available caps and participation rates over an up-front premium bonus, and can commit principal for the 10-year surrender term inside a financially strong, established carrier.

AM Best

A Excellent

Surrender period

10 years

Free withdrawal

10%/yr

Availability

51 jurisdictions (excl. New York)

Featured crediting strategies

Index / strategyRate mechanics

S&P 500

S&P 500 Index

Custom

8.25% cap rate

Rate effective Oct 1, 2026

Annual point-to-point

Requested state: TX

1-year term · 10-year surrender · Does not vary by premium

S&P 500

S&P 500 Index

Moderate · Moderate — reported percentage 25% · Point-to-point component

10.75% cap rate

Rate effective Oct 1, 2026

Complete strategy calculation unavailable.

Annual point-to-point

Requested state: TX

1-year term · 10-year surrender · Does not vary by premium

Fixed Account

Fixed Account

Custom

3.45% declared rate

Rate effective Oct 1, 2026

Fixed account

Requested state: TX

1-year term · 10-year surrender · Does not vary by premium

Fixed Account

Fixed Account

Conservative · Conservative — reported percentage 25% · Fixed component

6% fixed component rate

Rate effective Oct 1, 2026

Complete strategy calculation unavailable.

Fixed account

Requested state: TX

Declared crediting · 10-year surrender · Does not vary by premium

+ 18 additional crediting options (Invesco QQQ, S&P 500, Morningstar Global...)

Product analyst notes

How to think about this contract

Why it can stand out

  • Pure accumulation design with no strategy-level allocation charge on any credited strategy, so growth is not eroded by a fee drag (contrast: the sibling 'Smart Start Accumulator Plus with Fee' variant trades a contract-level charge for a larger premium bonus).
  • Six allocation choices spanning a fixed-rate bucket, a recognizable S&P 500 annual point-to-point cap option at full participation, and four proprietary or volatility-controlled participation-rate strategies — buyers get both like-for-like comparability and higher-participation alternatives in one contract.
  • Issued by American National Insurance Company, a long-established U.S. annuity carrier.
  • Standard menu of penalty-free liquidity protections — annual free-withdrawal allowance plus disability, nursing-home, terminal-illness, and RMD surrender-charge waivers — visible directly on this page rather than gated behind a sales brochure.

What to confirm

  • No premium bonus on this base contract. If a larger initial credited premium matters more than the highest available caps and participation rates, the sibling 'Smart Start Accumulator Plus' (premium bonus, lower caps) or 'Smart Start Accumulator Plus with Fee' (larger premium bonus, lower caps, contract fee) are the variants designed for that trade — not this one.
  • This is an accumulation-only contract with no published lifetime-income rider terms in the live data. Buyers needing lifetime-income specifics should use a carrier illustration or CANNEX comparison that includes those terms.
  • Long 10-year surrender schedule with a high first-year charge — a long liquidity commitment. The contract is built for buyers who can leave principal in for the full term outside of the annual free-withdrawal allowance and the listed waivers.
  • Several of the participation-rate strategies sit on proprietary, volatility-controlled indexes rather than a plain index like the S&P 500. Their participation rates look high in absolute terms but the underlying index behaves differently — evaluate each strategy on its own merits rather than comparing participation numbers head-to-head. The contract is not approved in California or New York.

Not ideal for

Buyers who need source-backed lifetime-income specifics directly from this page should not rely on this product page alone; use a carrier illustration or a CANNEX response that publishes rider mechanics.

Free Comparison Report

Get a Smart Start Accumulator 10 rate report

See how Smart Start Accumulator 10 compares for your age, state, premium, and income goals alongside other American National Anico fixed indexed annuity options.

All crediting strategies

View rate listings (28 strategy and component listings)

These listings show published strategy details and any available rates. Use the filters to narrow by index, term, premium band, or rate type.

Each option below groups its linked index and fixed components. Published factors describe parts of the option, not its complete return.

Par: 70% · 1-yr

Morningstar Global Wide Moat VC 7 Index

Custom · Point-to-point · 0% annual strategy fee

Requested state: TXRate effective Oct 1, 202610-yr surrenderDoes not vary by premium

Par: 70% · 1-yr

Morningstar Global Wide Moat VC 7 Index

Custom · Point-to-point

Requested state: TX10-yr surrenderDoes not vary by premium

Par: 65% · 1-yr

S&P MARC 5% Excess Return

Custom · Point-to-point · 0% annual strategy fee

Requested state: TXRate effective Oct 1, 202610-yr surrenderDoes not vary by premium

Par: 65% · 1-yr

S&P MARC 5% Excess Return

Custom · Point-to-point

Requested state: TX10-yr surrenderDoes not vary by premium

Par: 45% · 1-yr

Invesco QQQ Portfolio Plus Index

Custom · Point-to-point · 0% annual strategy fee

Requested state: TXRate effective Oct 1, 202610-yr surrenderDoes not vary by premium

Par: 45% · 1-yr

S&P 500 Dynamic Intraday TCA Index (USD) ER

Custom · Point-to-point · 0% annual strategy fee

Requested state: TXRate effective Oct 1, 202610-yr surrenderDoes not vary by premium

Par: 45% · 1-yr

Invesco QQQ Portfolio Plus Index

Custom · Point-to-point

Requested state: TX10-yr surrenderDoes not vary by premium

Par: 45% · 1-yr

S&P 500 Dynamic Intraday TCA Index (USD) ER

Custom · Point-to-point

Requested state: TX10-yr surrenderDoes not vary by premium

Cap: 8.25% · 1-yr

S&P 500 Index

Custom · Point-to-point · 0% annual strategy fee

Requested state: TXRate effective Oct 1, 202610-yr surrenderDoes not vary by premium

Cap: 8.25% · 1-yr

S&P 500 Index

Custom · Point-to-point

Requested state: TX10-yr surrenderDoes not vary by premium

Fixed: 3.45% · 1-yr

Fixed Account

Custom · Fixed account · 0% annual strategy fee

Requested state: TXRate effective Oct 1, 202610-yr surrenderDoes not vary by premium

Fixed: 3.45% · 1-yr

Fixed Account

Custom · Fixed account

Requested state: TX10-yr surrenderDoes not vary by premium

Morningstar Global Wide Moat VC 7 Index / Invesco QQQ Portfolio Plus Index / S&P 500 Dynamic Intraday TCA Index (USD) ER · Aggressive

1-year term · Income-rider applicability not specified

TX

Participation
90%
Participation
65%
Participation
60%

Rate effective Oct 1, 2026

Component factors are not a complete strategy return. A complete strategy illustration is unavailable.

Additional contract details
  • Aggressive — reported percentage 40% · Reported percentage bounds: 40–40%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Aggressive — reported percentage 40% · Reported percentage bounds: 40–40%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Aggressive — reported percentage 20% · Reported percentage bounds: 20–20%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.

10-year surrender period. Confirm contract terms and rider charges before purchase.

Composite strategy · Conservative

Income-rider applicability not specified

TX

Source fixed-component quote
6%

Rate effective Oct 1, 2026

Component factors are not a complete strategy return. A complete strategy illustration is unavailable.

Additional contract details
  • Conservative — reported percentage 25% · Reported percentage bounds: 25–25%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.

10-year surrender period. Confirm contract terms and rider charges before purchase.

Morningstar Global Wide Moat VC 7 Index / S&P MARC 5% Excess Return / Invesco QQQ Portfolio Plus Index / S&P 500 Dynamic Intraday TCA Index (USD) ER · Conservative

1-year term · Income-rider applicability not specified

TX

Participation
80%
Participation
75%
Participation
60%
Participation
50%

Rate effective Oct 1, 2026

Component factors are not a complete strategy return. A complete strategy illustration is unavailable.

Additional contract details
  • Conservative — reported percentage 30% · Reported percentage bounds: 30–30%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Conservative — reported percentage 10% · Reported percentage bounds: 10–10%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Conservative — reported percentage 25% · Reported percentage bounds: 25–25%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Conservative — reported percentage 10% · Reported percentage bounds: 10–10%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.

10-year surrender period. Confirm contract terms and rider charges before purchase.

Morningstar Global Wide Moat VC 7 Index / S&P MARC 5% Excess Return / Invesco QQQ Portfolio Plus Index / S&P 500 Dynamic Intraday TCA Index (USD) ER / S&P 500 Index · Moderate

1-year term · Income-rider applicability not specified

TX

Participation
80%
Participation
75%
Participation
60%
Participation
50%
Cap rate
10.75%

Rate effective Oct 1, 2026

Component factors are not a complete strategy return. A complete strategy illustration is unavailable.

Additional contract details
  • Moderate — reported percentage 30% · Reported percentage bounds: 30–30%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Moderate — reported percentage 10% · Reported percentage bounds: 10–10%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Moderate — reported percentage 25% · Reported percentage bounds: 25–25%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Moderate — reported percentage 10% · Reported percentage bounds: 10–10%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.
  • Moderate — reported percentage 25% · Reported percentage bounds: 25–25%. These bounds are separate from the participation rate and do not establish index allocation or declared-rate allocation.

10-year surrender period. Confirm contract terms and rider charges before purchase.

Composite strategy · Aggressive

1-year term · Income-rider applicability not specified

TX

Component rates are not shown for this request.

Component factors are not a complete strategy return. A complete strategy illustration is unavailable.

Additional contract details
  • Aggressive

Confirm contract terms and rider charges before purchase.

Composite strategy · Conservative

1-year term · Income-rider applicability not specified

TX

Component rates are not shown for this request.

Component factors are not a complete strategy return. A complete strategy illustration is unavailable.

Additional contract details
  • Conservative

Confirm contract terms and rider charges before purchase.

Composite strategy · Moderate

1-year term · Income-rider applicability not specified

TX

Component rates are not shown for this request.

Component factors are not a complete strategy return. A complete strategy illustration is unavailable.

Additional contract details
  • Moderate

Confirm contract terms and rider charges before purchase.

Accumulation profile

Accumulation-focused contract

The CANNEX information identifies this product as tax-deferred accumulation. Compare cap, participation rate, fees, liquidity, and surrender terms; use a separate payout-focused contract when guaranteed payout mechanics are required.

Linked review

Smart Start Accumulator 10 review notes

Comprehensive review of American National Smart Start Accumulator FIA—features, benefits, rates, and unique Best Entry Window explained.

Common questions about Smart Start Accumulator 10

● Can I lose money in Smart Start Accumulator 10?

A negative index return by itself does not reduce the contract's account value: Smart Start Accumulator 10 credits 0% — the floor — for that indexed period. The account value can still decrease from withdrawals, surrender charges, other contract-specific deductions. In years with no credited interest, those deductions can reduce the account value. Up to 10% of your value can be withdrawn each year without a charge; withdrawals above the penalty-free amount during the surrender period can incur a surrender charge.

● How do Smart Start Accumulator 10's crediting strategies compare?

Use "Compare against" in the analyzer to overlay another available Smart Start Accumulator 10 strategy on the same premium, age, years, and hypothetical index path. The control labels the strategy type, rate, index, and context so caps, participation rates, triggers, spreads, and fixed-account choices are not treated as interchangeable.

Key Features

Free withdrawal

10%/yr

Annual amount that may be available without surrender charges, subject to contract terms.

Surrender waivers

4

Disability waiver, Nursing home waiver, RMD waiver, Terminal illness waiver

Death benefit

Standard Death Benefit

Beneficiary value depends on contract terms, withdrawals, and rider elections.

Cap-rate floor

1.00%

Minimum guaranteed cap for cap-based indexed strategies.

Fixed account guarantee

3.00%

Guaranteed minimum interest rate for the fixed account.

Participation-rate floor

10.00%

Minimum guaranteed participation rate for participation-rate indexed strategies.

Fund types

Non-qualified, Qualified

Availability can vary by state and product terms.

Surrender schedule

Surrender schedule not available for this product

A surrender-charge schedule is currently unavailable for this product. Surrender terms often vary by state — confirm with the carrier before purchase.

Documents

product guide

American National Insurance Company – Smart Start Accumulator – Product Guide (11340 : 03-25).pdf

Confidence: highReviewed Apr 14, 2026

Direct link not published — request the document from the carrier.

product guide

11340-2.pdf

Confidence: highReviewed Apr 7, 2026

Direct link not published — request the document from the carrier.

Carrier Ratings

AM BestA
FitchA
S&PA

Contract notes from product data

Crediting design

How the interest-crediting choices are framed

Smart Start Accumulator 10 currently shows 28 published rate entries, including components that cannot be modeled as standalone crediting choices, including S&P 500 Index and Fixed Account, with 22 volatility-controlled index options grouped separately. These choices matter because caps, participation rates, fixed accounts, spreads, and renewal terms are different mechanics and should not be ranked as one simple rate list.

  • S&P 500 Index: 8.25% annual cap, 0% annual strategy fee
  • S&P 500 Index: source component; complete strategy calculation unavailable
  • S&P 500 Index: 8.25% annual cap
  • Fixed Account: 3.45% fixed account rate, 0% annual strategy fee

Liquidity terms

Why access rules deserve as much attention as rates

A fixed indexed annuity can preserve more control than an income-only contract, but access is still governed by the surrender schedule, free-withdrawal terms, and waiver language. Those details are where many product comparisons become more meaningful than a simple rate list.

  • 10%/yr free withdrawal
  • Disability waiver
  • Nursing home waiver
  • RMD waiver

Verification note

Use carrier materials as term evidence, then confirm the current version

Carrier materials such as American National Insurance Company – Smart Start Accumulator – Product Guide (11340 : 03-25).pdf and 11340-2.pdf help explain the contract language behind the data on this page; the latest document activity we see is Apr 24, 2026. For the current brochure, rate sheet, or specimen contract, confirm the state-specific version with the carrier or a licensed financial professional.

  • Rates and rider terms can vary by state and issue age
  • Carrier guarantees depend on claims-paying ability
  • Current contract forms should be confirmed before purchase

Free Comparison Report

Get a Smart Start Accumulator 10 rate report

See how Smart Start Accumulator 10 compares for your age, state, premium, and income goals alongside other American National Anico fixed indexed annuity options.

Related Resources

Machine-readable citation contract

Cite this

Cite this page for its methodology or interpretation. Current figures may refresh, so this canonical page URL is not a frozen data citation. To quote a market statistic, use the citation showing its observed as-of date and immutable JSON verification URL published by the Annuity Rate Statistics hub. Bulk product-level CANNEX records are not licensed for redistribution.

Page citation: Source: AnnuityRatesHQ · https://annuityrateshq.com/providers/american-national-anico/fia/smart-start-accumulator
<a href='https://annuityrateshq.com/rate-index'>Rate data: AnnuityRatesHQ Annuity Rate Index</a>

Full attribution terms and copy-ready HTML: annuityrateshq.com/cite-us